Home > Uncategorized > When all else fails, READ.

When all else fails, READ.

All too often we jump on the bandwagon of who or what is most popular when it comes to daily local or even global issues.  Especially in the Social Media era we are in, you see people just throwing out random rants about the days events whether it is about Politics, Religion or even Sports.  I definitely do not chime in on the first two and have even backed off on the latter. Reason being I simply do not follow it enough any more to have an educated opinion. Sure, once in a while I will blast a particular person about a particular team but it is really just sports after all; isn’t it?

I really started noticing well over a year ago on Facebook the rants gaining steam from people of all walks of life.  It was mostly politics and war and some racist stuff that will automatically get you “UN-friended” very quickly; or at least hidden until I am over it (love the power).  I found myself thinking that I really wish I had a better understanding of what some people were posting instead of just hitting the LIKE button and watching everyone post crap like, “you are SO right” or “damn, you nailed it” when they really have no clue and are just playing favorites. Be a leader not a follower  The only way to really have a better understanding of these topics is to read. Simple. I utilize any down time I have and educate myself on topics that people rant about so I can have and educated discussion about it (if I choose to do so) instead of adding one-liners and likes on FB.  My morning bus commute to NYC is now a journey to some of  the worlds most ferocious battlefields or in the White House during some of  histories biggest and world changing debates. Next thing you know I am in Port Authority ready to walk the streets of NYC and start my work day. Some very basic examples of these rants I speak of are our current and previous Presidents. Instead of chiming in on Obama and/or Bush bashing, why not read about what they both inherited and how they handle/handled it without the networks or papers leaning to one side or another with their BS opinions. I choose books that give unbiased opinions, fact-based.  I close the completed book feeling educated and satisfied. The only real reading I did in the first 40+ years of my life was the Sports page in the newspaper or school books that I had to read. This is a whole new world.

Other than Obama Wars and Bush Wars books, some good reads have been The Secret History of the CIA (what an eye-opener).  Killing Lincoln was a good short read but I have always been an honest Abe fan and even more so now. Books on FDR &  Eisenhower, powerful leaders. Any Martin Luther King Jr. book is enjoyable; talk about leadership, courage and strength.  Personally recommend To the Mountaintop. Currently smack in the middle of The Second World War and it is amazing. Plenty of books on deck!

So if you get anything out of this at all, hopefully it is not “think before you speak” it is “READ before you speak.” Certainly not an expert by any means but enjoying it thoroughly.

Just my two cents.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Diane Tarantino
    May 1, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Love it Mark! I read every day, even if it’s the 15 minutes in the bathroom before bed! LOL! I am not fond of politics, but as you stated, don’t feel able to rally talk intelligently and HONESTLY about any of the candidates, or elected officials, so I DON’T!! Maybe someday it will hit me. But Kudos to you, Mark, as you have shown that it is NEVER too late to start!! Enjoy the rides, my friend! Love, Di

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment